Talkmarks

May 23, 2007

Links for 24.05.2007

Filed under: advertising, links, marketing, media — Simone @ 10:19 pm

Technorati relaunches
mmm… it smells like a teen seach engine.

Mentos Geysers: world record attempt
The Google CPG (consumer packaged goods) blog has a post on the attempt to achieve a world record for most Mentos and Soda Fountains. I think the way Mentos approached a possible PR threat and rode it as possibly the biggest online media success story ever is just revealing. They did nothing special after all: they simply didn’t hide, spoke openly to their users and to the general public, embraced the discussion they didn’t start and came away with great goodwill and a world online campaign for little to no cost. Was that luck? Maybe so. Would your company exploit its luck like that?

When Trains Fly (from Advertising Age)
Nice one from AdAge. Do you know which market are you competing for? I feel like current revenue streams may be a big obstacle finding that out (or a big incentive to lying to yourself).

Deprivation Day 2: No Problem
Another one from AdAge. Diary of a TV less life and tips on how TV can be substituted with various online services, YouTube in primis. I live a TV-less life since a couple of years (I KNEW I HAD TO MAKE A BLOG OUT OF THAT! I KNEW THAT! Damn…) and I’m pretty happy. I read a lot more, I keep more and more blogs active (er… sort of…) and, well, not much else that I can think of. Uh, and another thing: I’m making my folks marketers’ job a lot tougher 🙂
Oh, and I agree that wisdom of crowds is selecting (and – indirectly – generating) much better content than any editor in chief, I guess that most people sticks to online media because of that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

